Don’t You Know Who My Father Is?

I’m quite certain I used this line when I was young and much more immature than I am now. My father’s a good man, he’s helped the community out in a lot of ways, but you might not know who he is. I mean, it’s not like he was a coach for the national champion Florida Gators football team or anything. Even if he was, I doubt I’d try to use that as an excuse for misbehaving, like the daughter of a current Gators coach reportedly did in Iowa City over the weekend.

Not only is it alleged that 21-year-old Jillian McCarney swore at and hit an Iowa City police officer, but reports say she more or less used that old “don’t you know who my father is?” line. For those of you who don’t know, her father is Dan McCarney, who was the head football coach at Iowa State from 1995 to 2006. He also played for and was an assistant at Iowa, and originally hails from Iowa City. He is now the assistant head coach in charge of defense in Gainesville. Police say that Jillian told them her charges (assaulting a police officer and keeping a disorderly house) would be dropped because her family has “a lot of money.”

Now the thing to keep in mind here is that since we weren’t there, we don’t really know what happened and are left with an official report from the authorities to tell us their account. Even so, this is a good lesson to people that they shouldn’t use their name to justify acting irresponsibly. It’s certainly something I don’t think Iowa head football coach Kirk Ferentz would tolerate. Need proof? Ask his son James, who was suspended from the team by his old man last season after being cited for Possession of Alcohol Under the Legal Age (the locals simply know it as “Paula”).

If anything, I find trying to get out of trouble with your name to be disrespectful to your family. If you can’t respect yourself, that’s one thing, but why drag other people through the mud? I’ve heard it said before from colleagues that Coach Mac is really a good guy. And it’s not my place to judge his daughter based on one alleged incident. But if she did what the police say she did, she really should leave Dad out of this and take responsibility for her own actions.

BGS

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment